I’m back! New Smokekiller EP! and “13” is ten years old!

Hey gang,

It’s been a long time since I rock n rolled but better late than never. I have been writing and touring like crazy for the last few years. Mostly on the road with the Jen & John duo, or just Jen Lane. The songs kept coming out of me the whole time, sometimes a little Pettyish, sometimes a little Foo Fighting, and sometimes a little old school country. I know, I know, all over the place. I just let them all happen and make sure that I saved them so that I could share them with you.

First things first, let’s catch up. Jen Lane and I had a baby!!! Yup, ol’ smokey smoke is a proud papa now. Vera Lee Frances Antoniuk was born on June 25th, 2017. (Hopefully that helps explain my absence from talking about myself as of late.) We are having a lot of fun while working hard raising a little baby, and oh my god people, it is an incredible amount of work. I have to say that you moms out there are an amazing bunch. When I think that my mom had 4 kids, 2 years apart, I’m totally surprised that we all survived and that she made it too. And yes, there will be a kids album in the works. Already writing it. : )

Jen and I also have a new duets record that we recorded at the end of the Jen Lane “This Life of Mine” tour. We have decided to put it on hold at least until Vera can keep time with a shaker. We’ll be releasing it in stages over the next little while so keep your eyes and ears out for it.

Back to the business at hand. I have a new Smokekiller album written. It’ll be ready for release in Spring 2020. But first I’ll be sharing tracks off my 2008 release “13” with all the itunes and spotify links. I just feel like sharing it out there so that we can all get reacquainted before we drop the new tunes. I’ll be starting that in the next few weeks to coincide with some live shows that I have coming up. The first of those is on March 3rd at the Capitol Music Club. I am really excited to be playing with Billy Tataryn on drums (Castle River) and Malcolm Whyte (Gunner & Smith).

Gotta run for now, but I think that about catches us up.

Talk soon,

John

Leave a comment